(1) The content standards shall be used by school districts to develop local curriculum and assessment in all the content areas including:

(a) English language proficiency;

(b) English language arts and literacy;

(c) mathematics;

(d) arts;

(e) health and physical education;

(f) science;

(g) career and technical education;

(h) computer science;

(i) library media and information literacy;

(j) social studies; and

(k) technology integration. 

(2) The K-12 content standards describe what students shall know, understand, and be able to do in these content standards. These K-12 standards define end-of-year expectations and a cumulative progression designed to enable students to meet college and career readiness expectations no later than the end of high school.

History: Mont. Const. Art. X, sec. 9, 20-2-114, MCA; IMP, Mont. Const. Art. X, sec. 9, 20-2-121, 20-3-106, 20-7-101, MCA; NEW, 2011 MAR p. 2520, Eff. 11/26/11; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1387, Eff. 7/1/17; AMD, 2016 MAR p. 1955, Eff. 7/1/17; AMD, 2020 MAR p. 2134, Eff. 7/1/21.