23.12.1208 PROCEDURES FOR REGISTRATION, ATTENDANCE, AND FEES FOR PRESERVICE APPLICANTS
(1) In order of rank, preservice applicants will be given an opportunity to register for those Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course sessions that are scheduled by the academy. Applicants shall be considered eligible to attend any Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course session scheduled to commence within one year from the date of their ranking.
(2) Once the scheduled preservice roster is full for a particular Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course session, applicants will be placed on a waiting list by order of rank.
(3) Registered applicants who decline to participate in a Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course session may be required to retest, but may be allowed to reregister for another session at the discretion of the academy administrator or the academy administrator's designee.
(4) At least 30 days before a Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course session is scheduled to begin, registered applicants will be required to complete and pass a medical examination which will be conducted by a health care professional selected and paid for by the applicant.
(5) At least 30 days before a Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course session is scheduled to begin, registered applicants will be required to provide proof of medical insurance coverage for the period of the basic course. Other final documentation required by the academy must also be provided at least 30 days in advance.
(6) Cost for participation in the Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course Preservice Program is $5,100 for in-state residents and $7,100 for out-of-state residents. These fees include room and board, instructional costs, training and education materials, and equipment and supplies. A $300 nonrefundable deposit, which is deducted from the total cost of participation, must be paid within ten days of acceptance into the Preservice Program.
(a) For purposes of the Montana Law Enforcement Academy Preservice Program, a person is considered a Montana resident if they have resided in the state for 180 consecutive days. Applicants may be required to provide sufficient documentation to prove residency.
(7) Preservice students who leave a Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course voluntarily or who are dismissed will be granted a tuition refund on the following basis:
(a) 75% of the tuition fee will be refunded to applicants who leave during the first week of the basic course;
(b) 50% of the tuition fee will be refunded to applicants who leave during the second week of the basic course; and
(c) no refund will be made to applicants who leave the basic course after the second week of training.
(8) At least 30 days before the starting date of a Law Enforcement Officer Basic Course session, registered applicants will receive a packet of information that includes reporting information and the name and address of the course manager for the particular basic course session.
(9) Registered applicants will also receive a copy of the student handbook and student agreement (conduct rules) at this time.
History: 44-10-202, MCA; IMP, 44-10-202, 44-10-301, MCA; NEW, 1990 MAR p. 1261, Eff. 7/1/90; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 1279, Eff. 5/15/98; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 2917, Eff. 11/23/06; TRANS, from ARM 23.17.108, 2008 MAR p. 1470, Eff. 7/18/08; AMD, 2014 MAR p. 323, Eff. 2/14/14.