(1) An applicant for any type or class endorsement must successfully complete a vision examination, and new applicants must successfully complete a written and driving examination as designated for the type(s) and class(es) of endorsement(s) applied for.
(2) An applicant for either type commercial motor vehicle endorsement must pay the fee for the type of endorsement (type 1 or type 2) applied for as a portion of his application. No examination will be conducted nor will any endorsement be issued until the required fee is paid. There is no fee for hazardous material, passenger, double/triple or tank endorsement(s) to a driver's license.
(a) Payment of the required fee entitles the applicant to 3 attempts of the examination within 6 months from the date of application except that no fee examinations shall be limited to 6 attempts within 6 months. If the applicant has not successfully completed the application within the 6-month period, the fee is forfeit, and any receipts or permits issued as a result of payment of the fee are void and must be returned to the department. A failure of an eye test is not an attempt at the examination.
(3) Each application for a new or renewal commercial motor vehicle endorsement must include:
(a) the applicant's full name as it appears on his/her Montana driver's license or application for a Montana driver's license;
(b) a description of the applicant's physical characteristics, including height, weight, hair and eye color;
(c) the applicant's date of birth;
(d) the applicant's social security number which, in the case of all commercial motor vehicle endorsements, becomes a part of the applicant's permanent record and it will be submitted, as required by federal regulations, to the Commercial Driver License Information System (CDLIS) . The applicant's driver's license number may be the social security number or, if the applicant chooses, a number assigned by the department;
(e) an acknowledgement by the examiner of his observation of a current medical certificate (required for type 1 endorsements) or his approval of a medical statement (required for type 2 endorsements) in the name of the applicant. All medical statements and medical supplements will be attached to and become a part of the application;
(i) In the event a medical statement cannot be approved by the examiner, that fact will be noted and the medical statement sent to headquarters for review.
(ii) In the event the examiner has knowledge that the applicant's medical condition has changed since the issuance of a medical certificate, the examiner may require a more recent certificate.
(f) whether or not the applicant is currently licensed in, or has an active record in, any other state(s) , a list of the state(s) , if any, and the license numbers assigned to him/her;
(i) No commercial motor vehicle endorsement may be issued to an applicant who is licensed or has an active record in any other state, unless the applicant surrenders the license(s) or, in the case of active record(s) , provides a statement that the license(s) in question have been lost or returned to the state(s) of issuance. The surrendered license(s) or statement(s) must be attached to the application, and will be returned to the state(s) of issuance by the department.
(ii) An applicant who denies licensure, or having an active record(s) in any other state(s), and is later found to have been licensed or to have an active license record(s) at the time of application is ineligible for a commercial motor vehicle endorsement, and the endorsement(s) will be cancelled as provided in section 61-5-201, MCA.
(g) whether or not the applicant has ever had a driver's license, permit, endorsement, or privilege to drive cancelled, suspended, revoked, or denied by this state or any other state(s) . If the answer is yes, the applicant must identify all action(s) taken, the date(s) of the action(s) , the state(s) where the action (s) were taken, and the ending dates of the action(s) ;
(i) No commercial vehicle endorsement may be issued to an applicant who is currently suspended or revoked by this or any other state.
(ii) An applicant who denies an action by this or any other state against his/her driver's license or driving privilege who is later found to have had such an action taken, and to have had a clear opportunity to have knowledge of the action, is ineligible for a commercial motor vehicle endorsement, and the endorsement(s) will be cancelled as provided in section 61-5-201, MCA.
(h) whether or not the applicant has knowledge and understanding of the state and federal regulations governing the operation of commercial motor vehicles. If the answer is no, the applicant is ineligible to receive a commercial motor vehicle endorsement.