This is an obsolete version of the rule. Please click on the rule number to view the current version.


(1) The following amphibians are classified as prohibited species:

(a) African clawed frog - Xenopus laevis; and

(b) North American bullfrog - Rana catesbeiana.

(2) The following crustaceans are classified as prohibited species:

(a) Rusty crayfish - Orconectes rusticus.

(3) The following fish are classified as prohibited species:

(a) Bighead carp - Hypophthalmichthys nobilis;

(b) Black carp - Mylopharyngodon piceus;

(c) Grass carp - Ctenopharyngodon idella;

(d) Silver carp - Hypophthalmichthys molitrix;

(e) Snakehead fish - genera Channa and Parachanna (29 species) ;

(f) Zander (European pikeperch) - Sander lucioperca; and

(g) Walking catfish - Clarias batrachus.

(4) The following mammals are classified as prohibited species:

(a) Nutria - Myocastor coypus;

(b) Short-tailed opossum - Monodelphis domestica;

(c) Virginia opossum - Didelphis virginiana;

(d) Brush-tailed possum - Trichosurus vulpecula;

(e) Southern flying squirrel - Glaucomys volans; and

(f) Primates in the family Cebidae.

(5) The following mollusks are classified as prohibited species:

(a) New Zealand mudsnail - Potamopyrgus antipodarum; and

(b) Zebra mussel - Dreissena polymorpha.

(6) The following reptiles are classified as prohibited:

(a) Boomslang - Dispholidus typus;

(b) Burrowing asps (all species in family Atractaspidae) ;

(c) Coral snakes (all species in family Elapidae) ;

(d) Cobras (all species in family Elapidae) ;

(e) Kraits (all species in family Elapidae) ;

(f) Mambas (all species in family Elapidae) ; and

(g) Pit vipers and true vipers (all species in family Viperidae except species indigenous to Montana) .


History: 87-5-704, 87-5-705, 87-5-712, MCA; IMP, 87-5-707, 87-5-708, 87-5-711, 87-5-712, MCA; NEW, 2005 MAR p. 814, Eff. 5/27/05; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 2823, Eff. 11/10/06.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security