This is an obsolete version of the rule. Please click on the rule number to view the current version.


(1) A "certified lifeguard" means an individual who holds current certification in a course sponsored by one of the following courses:

(a) American Red Cross Lifeguard Training;

(b) YMCA Lifeguarding;

(c) Boy Scouts of America Lifeguard;

(d) International Lifeguard Training Program (ILTP) of Jeff Ellis and Associates; or

(e) another program that is substantially equivalent to the above programs and which is approved by the department.

(2) "Licensed lifeguard" means an individual who holds a current license from the National Pool and Waterpark Lifeguard Training Program in one of the following programs:

(a) National Pool and Waterpark Pool Lifeguard;

(b) National Pool and Waterpark Lifeguard Training; or

(c) National Pool and Waterpark Deep Water Lifeguard.

(3) In addition to holding a current certification or license from one of the agencies listed in (1) or (2), each lifeguard must also hold current certification:

(a) by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association in infant, child, and adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); and

(b) by the American Heart Association in standard first aid or an equivalent first-aid course.

(4) Each lifeguard must meet the minimum age requirement set by the certifying or licensing agency as listed in (1) or (2).

History: 50-53-103, MCA; IMP, 50-53-101, 50-53-102, 50-53-103, 50-53-104, 50-53-106, 50-53-107, MCA; NEW, 2010 MAR p. 80, Eff. 1/15/10.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security