This is an obsolete version of the rule. Please click on the rule number to view the current version.


(1) The following amphibians are classified as prohibited species:

(a) African clawed frog – Xenopus laevis; and

(b) North American bullfrog – Rana catesbeiana.

(2) The following crustaceans are classified as prohibited species:

(a) Rusty crayfish – Orconectes rusticus.

(3) The following fish are classified as prohibited species:

(a) Bighead carp – Hypophthalmichthys nobilis;

(b) Black carp – Mylopharyngodon piceus;

(c) Eurasian Ruffe – Gymnocephalus cernuus;

(d) Grass carp – Ctenopharyngodon idella;

(e) Round goby – Neogobius melanostomus;

(f) Silver carp – Hypophthalmichthys molitrix;

(g) Snakehead fish – genera Channa and Parachanna (29 species);

(h) Walking catfish – Clarias batrachus;

(i) White perch – Morone Americana; and

(j) Zander (European pikeperch) – Sander lucioperca.

(4) The following mammals are classified as prohibited species:

(a) African Soft Fur Rat/Natal Rat – Mastomys natalensis/Natal miltimammate mouse;

(b) Argali Sheep – Ovis ammon;

(c) Brush-tailed possum – Trichosurus vulpecula;

(d) Nutria – Myocastor coypus;

(e) Cebidae family (new world primates);

(f) Cercopithecidae family (old world monkeys);

(g) Hyaenidae family (hyenas);

(h) Hylobatidae family (gibbons);

(i) Natal Rat/African Soft Fur Rat – Natal miltimammate mouse/Mastomys natalensis;

(j) Pongidae family (apes);

(k) Short-tailed opossum – Monodelphis domestica;

(l) Small spotted genet – Genetta genetta;

(m) Southern flying squirrel – Glaucomys volans;

(n) Transcaspian urial sheep – Ovis aries vignei; and

(o) Virginia opossum – Didelphis virginiana.

(5) The following mollusks are classified as prohibited species:

(a) New Zealand mudsnail – Potamopyrgus antipodarum;

(b) Quagga mussel – Dreissena bugensis; and

(c) Zebra mussel – Dreissena polymorpha.

(6) The following reptiles are classified as prohibited:

(a) African rock python – Python sebae;

(b) Alligatoridae family;

(c) Amethystine python – Morelia amethistina;

(d) Boomslang – Dispholidus typus;

(e) Burrowing asps (all species in family Atractaspidae);

(f) Coral snakes (all species in family Elapidae);

(g) Cobras (all species in family Elapidae);

(h) Crocodylidae family;

(i) Green Anaconda – Eunectes marinus;

(j) Indian python (including the Burmese python) – Python molurus;

(k) Kraits (all species in family Elapidae);

(l) Mambas (all species in family Elapidae);

(m) Pit vipers and true vipers (all species in family Viperidae except species indigenous to Montana);

(n) Red-eared slider – Trachemys scripta elegans; and

(o) Reticulated python – Python reticulatus.

(7) The following birds are classified as prohibited:

(a) California quail – Callipepla californica; and

(b) Gambel's quail – Callipepla gambelii.

History: 87-5-704, 87-5-705, 87-5-712, MCA; IMP, 87-5-707, 87-5-708, 87-5-711, 87-5-712, MCA; NEW, 2005 MAR p. 814, Eff. 5/27/05; AMD, 2006 MAR p. 2823, Eff. 11/10/06; AMD, 2007 MAR p. 1187, Eff. 8/24/07; AMD, 2008 MAR p. 2179, Eff. 10/10/08; AMD, 2010 MAR p. 2812, Eff. 12/10/10; AMD, 2014 MAR p. 1919, Eff. 8/22/14; AMD, 2015 MAR p. 1272, Eff. 8/28/15.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security