This is an obsolete version of the rule. Please click on the rule number to view the current version.


(1)  A farm applicator desiring to use and apply restricted use pesticides shall be required to make application for a special use permit or certificate on a form approved by the department.  Each application form shall be completed in its entirety prior to processing by the department.

(a)  Applicants, who have completed the application form, paid the fee, passed the required examination or have attended an approved training course and have taken an ungraded quiz at the conclusion of the course, shall be issued a certificate by the department to purchase and use restricted use pesticides. Passage of the required examination or attendance at a training course shall qualify applicators for five consecutive years.  The applicator's first requalification and recertification date will be based upon the staggered schedule established for the permit district in which the person resides.

(b)  The certificate shall be in effect for five years from the date of issuance to December 31 of the fifth year except as provided in (1)  (a)  .  Farm applicators may renew their certification to purchase and use restricted use pesticides by submitting their application and fee to the department.

(c)  Training manuals and/or training materials for farm applicators will be designated by the department.  If the applicator elects to qualify by examination, these training manuals and/or training materials will serve as the basis for the examination.

(2)  The farm applicator examination or training standards, as a minimum requirement, shall include those set forth in 80-8-209(3)  , MCA.

(3)  The farm applicant passing the examination or attending an approved training course shall be certified to use restricted use pesticides for the purpose of producing agricultural commodities.  The passing examination score shall be 70%.

(4)  Certified farm applicators shall requalify for certification to use restricted use pesticides prior to issuance of a certificate.  Requalification may be achieved by passing an examination or by attending six hours of training approved by the department.  Each farm applicator qualification period shall conform to the established staggered system set forth in this rule.  The qualification period of each district ends December 31 of the year indicated and every five years thereafter.  A listing of counties within each district follows:

DISTRICT 1          2008

Flathead   Missoula
Lake Ravalli
Lincoln Sanders


DISTRICT II          2004

Beaverhead  Lewis and Clark
 Broadwater  Madison
Deer Lodge Meagher
Gallatin Park
Granite Powell
Jefferson  Silver Bow

DISTRICT III          2005

Blaine Liberty
Cascade Pondera
Chouteau Teton
Glacier Toole

DISTRICT IV          2006

Carter Prairie
Custer  Richland
Daniels Roosevelt
Dawson Rosebud
Fallon  Sheridan
Garfield Treasure
McCone Valley
Phillips Wibaux
Powder River

DISTRICT V          2007

Big Horn Petroleum
Carbon   Stillwater
Fergus Sweet Grass
Golden Valley  Wheatland
Judith Basin Yellowstone

History: 80-8-105, MCA; IMP, 80-8-105, 80-8-209, MCA; NEW, Eff. 7/5/76; AMD, Eff. 7/4/77; AMD, 1978 MAR p. 152, Eff. 4/15/78; AMD, 1986 MAR p. 1007, Eff. 6/13/86; AMD, 2004 MAR p. 2546, Eff. 10/22/04.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security