37.106.115 APPEAL PROCEDURES
(1) Any affected person who requests a hearing to reconsider the department's decision must submit a check for $500 to the department along with the request. No hearing will be scheduled or held unless the department has received the fee.
(2) Immediately after receipt of a request for a hearing, a copy of the request will be sent to all affected persons, as defined in 50-5-101 , MCA, who participated in any informational hearing that was held concerning the affected proposal.
(3) Notice of the date and time of a reconsideration hearing will be sent to the affected person requesting the hearing and, if the applicant did not request the hearing, the applicant as well.
(4) If a hearing to reconsider a decision is requested, any affected person, other than the requestor of the hearing, who wishes to participate in the hearing must, at least two weeks after the date the request for hearing is received, submit a written notice of intent to participate to the department along with a check for $500, unless the affected person is an applicant whose proposal was approved and is the subject of the hearing, in which case only the notice of intent must be received by the department.
(5) The fees required by (1) and (4) above must be paid by check made out to the department of public health and human services.
(6) Counsel for the department and the health planning staff may participate in the hearing to provide testimony and exhibits, and to cross-examine witnesses, but are not considered parties for the purposes of 2-4-613 , MCA.
(7) A copy of any pre-hearing motion filed by an affected person must be served by mail upon the department and any other affected person participating in the hearing.
(8) The department's hearing officer may require the direct testimony of the witnesses of each affected person participating in the hearing to be in writing and filed prior to hearing with the department, with copies served upon the department and every other participating affected person.
(9) At the reconsideration hearing, the parties or their counsel will be given the opportunity to present written or oral evidence or statements concerning the department's action and the grounds upon which it was based.
(10) The department shall send the written findings of fact and conclusions of law that state the basis for its decision to all parties participating in the hearing. Any other person upon request may receive a copy for cost.
(11) The decision of the department following the reconsideration hearing shall be considered the department's final decision for the purpose of appealing the decision to district court.
(12) The hearing, any discovery, and other related matters are subject to the Montana Administrative Procedure Act, Title 2, chapter 4, part 6, MCA, and ARM 1.3.215 through 1.3.225 and ARM 1.3.230 through 1.3.233.
(13) The department hereby adopts and incorporates by reference ARM 1.3.215 through 1.3.225 and ARM 1.3.230 through 1.3.233, which contain attorney general's model rules for contested cases, implementing the Montana Administrative Procedure Act. Copies of the rules may be obtained from the Department of Public Health and Human Services, Office of Legal Affairs, 1400 Broadway, P.O. Box 202951, Helena, MT 59620-2951, phone: (406)444-9503.
History: Sec. 50-5-103 and 50-5-306, MCA; IMP, Sec. 50-5-306 and 50-5-310, MCA; NEW, 1979 MAR p. 1670, Eff. 12/28/79; AMD, 1983 MAR p. 732, Eff. 7/1/83; AMD, 1985 MAR p. 602, Eff. 5/31/85; AMD, 1987 MAR p. 1074, Eff. 7/17/87; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 1975, Eff. 7/19/96; TRANS, from DHES, 2002 MAR p. 185.