Prev Next


(1) The content areas covered by the arts standards include:

(a) visual arts;

(b) media arts;

(c) theatre arts;

(d) music; and

(e) dance.

(2) When a district incorporates or integrates arts content into district curriculum or offers an elective course in the arts, the following content standards apply.

(3) At each grade level a student will be able to:

(a) generate and conceptualize artistic ideas and work;

(b) organize and develop artistic ideas and work;

(c) refine and complete artistic work;

(d) select, analyze, and interpret artistic work for presentation;

(e) develop and refine artistic techniques and work for presentation;

(f) convey meaning through the presentation of artistic work;

(g) perceive and analyze artistic work;

(h) construct meaningful interpretations of artistic works;

(i) apply criteria to evaluate artistic work;

(j) synthesize and relate knowledge and personal experiences to create art; and

(k) relate artistic ideas and works with societal, cultural, and historical context to deepen understanding, including traditional and contemporary artistic ideas and works by American Indians.


History: Mont. Const. Art. X, sec. 9, 20-2-114, MCA; IMP, Mont. Const. Art. X, sec. 9, 20-1-501, 20-2-121, 20-3-106, 20-7-101, 20-9-309, MCA; NEW, 2016 MAR p. 1387, Eff. 7/1/17.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security