Prev Next


(1) The department may amend a Montana air quality permit, or any portion of a permit, for the following reasons:

(a) changes in any applicable rules adopted by the department;

(b) changes in operation that do not result in an increase in emissions. The owner or operator of a facility may not increase the facility's emissions beyond permit limits unless the increase meets the criteria in ARM 17.8.745 for a de minimis change not requiring a permit, or unless the owner or operator applies for and receives another permit in accordance with ARM 17.8.748, 17.8.749, 17.8.752, 17.8.755, and 17.8.756, and with all applicable requirements in ARM Title 17, chapter 8, subchapters 8, 9, and 10;

(c) administrative errors in the permit that do not affect substantive provisions of the permit.

(2) The department shall notify the permittee in writing of any proposed amendments to the permit. The permit is deemed amended in accordance with the notice when 15 days have elapsed from the date of the department's decision to amend the permit, unless the permittee requests a hearing before the board.

(3) When the department amends a permit under this rule, the permittee may request a hearing before the board. A hearing request must be in writing and must be filed with the board within 15 days after the department issues its decision to amend the permit. Filing a request for hearing postpones the effective date of the department's decision until issuance of a final decision by the board.

(4) A hearing under this rule is governed by the contested case provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act, Title 2, chapter 4, part 6, MCA.


History: 75-2-112, 75-2-204, MCA; IMP, 75-2-211, MCA; NEW, 2002 MAR p. 3567, Eff. 12/27/02; AMD, 2003 MAR p. 2272, Eff. 10/17/03; AMD, 2024 MAR p. 253, Eff. 2/10/24.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security