Prev Next


(1) Horses, mules, and asses, and other equidae may enter the state of Montana provided they are transported or moved in conformity with ARM 32.3.201 through 32.3.211. All animals must be tested negative for EIA within the previous 12 months as a condition for obtaining the permit required by ARM 32.3.207.

(2) Unless otherwise specifically provided in this rule all horses, asses, and other equidae that are moved into the state of Montana shall be accompanied by an official certificate of veterinary inspection or equine passport certificate from the state of origin stating that the equidae are free from evidence of any communicable disease and have completed EIA test and identification requirements as defined in ARM 32.3.1401 using procedures outlined in ARM 32.3.1402.

(3) Entry of equidae into Montana shall not be allowed until the EIA test has been completed and reported negative. Equidae with tests pending are not acceptable. Equidae that test positive to EIA test shall not be permitted entry into Montana except by special written permission from the state veterinarian and must be branded and moved in conformity with the USDA EIA movement regulations.

(4) A nursing foal under six months of age accompanied by the EIA negative dam is exempt from the test requirements.

(5) Working equids used for seasonal ranching purposes may be exempt from the requirements of this rule if the animals have been included on a current seasonal grazing permit that has received prior approval from the Department of Livestock and the chief livestock sanitary official in a western state that reciprocates with Montana in honoring seasonal grazing permits.

(6) Equids being moved directly to a licensed equine-approved feedlot establishment may be exempted from EIA test requirements.

(7) The Department of Livestock may develop cooperative reciprocal agreements with neighboring states that exempt EIA cooperating states.

(8) Provided there is a written agreement between the Department of Livestock and the chief livestock sanitary official of the state of destination, Montana origin equids may be moved from Montana to other states or from other states to Montana for shows, rides, or other equine events and return on an equine passport certification under a state system of equine certification acceptable to the cooperating states.

(a) Equine passport certificates cannot be used when equids are moved for the purposes of sale or change of ownership of the equid, animal breeding activities, or movements that involve stays of longer than 90 days. Equids moved for these purposes must be accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection.

(b) Equine passport movement must involve short term travel to or from the state of Montana for participation in equine activities including but not limited to participation in equine events, shows, rodeos, roping, trail rides, and search and rescue activities.

(c) Equine passport certificates shall be valid for only one animal and shall contain the following information:

(i) the name and address of the owner;

(ii) the location at which the animal is stabled, housed, pastured or kept, if different from that of the owner;

(iii) an accurate description and identification of the animal as defined in ARM 32.3.1401;

(iv) the date of veterinary inspection;

(v) the date and results of the EIA or other required tests or vaccinations; and

(vi) the signature of the inspecting veterinarian.

(d) No certificate or veterinary inspection or equine passport certificate shall be issued for equine to enter Montana unless it is complete in all respects with requirements of the state of Montana.

(e) Equine passport certificates must be properly completed with the required tests and certifications recorded on the certificate and a copy of the completed certificate must be submitted to and approved by the Department of Livestock.

(f) Equine passport certificates shall be valid for no longer than six months from the date the EIA sample is collected if an EIA test is required, or six months from the date of inspection if no EIA test is required.

(g) The recipients of equine passport certificates shall be required to submit a travel itinerary to the state veterinarian's office within ten working days following the date of expiration of the certificate. The travel itinerary shall include a listing of all travel that the equid made into and out of the state of Montana during the validity of the certificate.

(h) The Department of Livestock may cancel any equine passport certificate in the event of serious or emergency disease situations or for certificate holder's failure to comply with the rules that apply to such certificates. Cancellation of the certificate may be accomplished by written or verbal notice to the certificate holder. Verbal notice shall be confirmed by written notice. The canceled certificate will become invalid on the date and at the time of notification.


History: 81-2-102, 81-2-707, MCA; IMP, 81-2-102, 81-2-703, MCA; Eff. 12/31/72; AMD, Eff. 11/4/75; AMD, Eff. 6/5/76; AMD, Eff. 5/5/77; AMD, 1997 MAR p. 962, Eff. 11/26/77; EMERG, AMD, 1/20/78; 1978 MAR p. 579, Eff. 4/25/78; AMD, 1978 MAR p. 1179, Eff. 8/11/78; AMD, 1979 MAR p. 844, Eff. 8/17/79; AMD, 1980 MAR p. 1713, Eff. 6/27/80; AMD, 1988 MAR p. 84, Eff. 1/15/88; AMD, 1996 MAR p. 2300, Eff. 8/23/96; AMD, 1998 MAR p. 2757, Eff. 10/9/98; AMD, 2014 MAR p. 1096, Eff. 5/23/14; AMD, 2018 MAR p. 1960, Eff. 10/6/18.

Home  |   Search  |   About Us  |   Contact Us  |   Help  |   Disclaimer  |   Privacy & Security